Everything else...

Latest tools…

cult score5
March 7, 2022
Escali

Stela

I thought this was the most promising scale when I bought it, but... it just couldn't pull its weight.

Full Review
cult score4.8
March 7, 2022
Escali

Nutro

I'm torn. In a lot of ways this scale is great, but there are enough issues that I can't wholeheartedly recommend it.

Full Review
cult score8.8
March 7, 2022
KitchenAid

KQ908

Despite my lack of love for KitchenAid and their over-reliance on old patents, I'm super impressed with this scale design.

Full Review
cult score2
March 7, 2022
Taylor

3817

This scale is super inaccurate, feels bad to use, ugly, and you shouldn't buy it.

Full Review
cult score6.6
March 7, 2022
MyWeigh

KD-8000

This was the unit that started this whole review process. The review unit is actually my second — and I loved the first right up until it started failing.

Full Review
cult score7.2
March 7, 2022
OXO

11lb Scale

Sleek, friendly design. A little lacking in accuracy.

Full Review
cult score3
March 7, 2022
Ozeri

Pronto

This device is clearly made to be inexpensive and it's successful at that. Unfortunately, it's also just extremely slow in-use.

Full Review
cult score5.6
March 7, 2022
Taylor

1250

Nicer to look at than its brand-mates, but still too inaccurate to recommend.

Full Review
cult score5.6
March 7, 2022
AWS

LB-3000

An excellent secondary scale for super fine measurements. It's really not versatile enough to be your primary scale, but it's very effective at smaller measurements.

Full Review
cult score4.8
March 7, 2022
Escali

Primo

I now understand why so many home cooks love this scale: it really is great for a $20 scale.

Full Review
cult score5.6
March 7, 2022
OXO

5lb Scale

I've had a number of OXO scales over the years and this was the first one that was accurate and reliable.

Full Review
cult score7.8
March 7, 2022
Zwilling

Enfinigy

Aesthetically pleasing despite some confusing design decisions.

Full Review
cult score8.2
March 7, 2022
KitchenAid

KQ909

I think this model is genius and I wish more manufacturers would take this approach to add versatility without requiring a completely separate unit.

Full Review
cult score2.4
February 15, 2022
Mueller Austria

Ultra-Stick

I'd seen this blender around TikTok, so I was excited to give it a shot but immediately on picking it up I knew that it would be disappointing. It's that feeling of when a tool is *too* lightweight — which makes sense for a blender made of super thin aluminum and plastic. But those are notoriously soft materials that I wouldn't expect to survive long in frequent use.

Full Review
cult score2.4
February 15, 2022
Waring

Commercial Quik Stik

I've got a huge commercial blender from Waring for producing big batches of condiments that I love. It's an absolute beast that quickly works through anything I put in front of it. This is its polar opposite. Basically useless.

Full Review
cult score2.4
February 15, 2022
Braun

MultiQuick 5 Vario Hand Blender

I miss the old Braun — the one that made pretty, useful home products.

Full Review
cult score5.8
February 15, 2022
KitchenAid

Variable Speed Corded Hand Blender

In many ways, this is the quintessential hand blender. Despite all the flashy colors it comes in, this is very much a minimalist blender design.

Full Review
cult score5.6
February 15, 2022
KitchenAid

Cordless Hand Blender

A great blender for the price, but there's one thing that keeps me on the fence: the charger design.

Full Review
cult score5.6
February 15, 2022
Philips

ProMix Hand Blender

This is the blender that started this whole search due to a piece of plastic panel coming off the top. It's still in production, but it's been out of stock for over a year — otherwise I probably would've just bought another one.

Full Review
cult score7.6
February 15, 2022
Breville

Control Grip Immersion Blender

I've had a number of Breville kitchen tools over the years and generally I think they feel really cheap and are lacking in the performance department. This is an outlier for me — my second-favorite corded blender. It does a lot with its fairly low wattage and its dome design is one of my favorites. On the other hand, its plastic body doesn't feel very resilient and I expect it to have a shorter lifespan than many of its counterparts.

Full Review
cult score8.9
February 15, 2022
Vitamix

Immersion Blender

Vitamix upholds their reputation as the best in the blitz biz with their new, stunningly powerful hand blender. Vroom vroom.

Full Review
cult score7.2
February 15, 2022
All-Clad

Cordless Hand Blender

In a category full of ugly tools, this one is probably the sleekest.

Full Review
cult score1.8
January 19, 2022
J.A. Henckels

Graphite 8" Chef's Knife (+ 13-pc set)

Don't buy knife sets. Please.

Full Review
cult score9.4
January 19, 2022
Kramer by Zwilling

8" Chef's Knife

Honestly, I expected this to be a very expensive gimmick. I was wrong; it kicks ass. An absolute unit that glides through anything in its path.

Full Review
cult score3.6
January 19, 2022
Made In

8" Chef Knife

I hate using this knife. It's unbalanced, heavy, and the blade profile is super awkward. On top of that — in a market full of overconfident hyperbole about what a steel is capable of, they take the cake. Pass.

Full Review
cult score3.1
January 19, 2022
Wusthof

Classic 6" Chef's Knife

Mediocre generally, but terrible for the price. Bolster is super annoying when sharpening.

Full Review
cult score8.6
January 19, 2022
Hitohira

180mm Santoku

What an absolute gem: the combination of a short-bladed santoku with shirogami steel makes for an absolutely fantastic starter knife (or backup).

Full Review
cult score5.2
January 19, 2022
Ikea

365+ 6" Utility Knife

Despite having the worst grind I've ever seen on a knife out of the box, it's still maybe a good deal for the price? It's not good, but it's better than some more expensive knives.

Full Review
cult score6.3
January 19, 2022
Global

GU-02 8" Asian Chef's Knife

Chunky version of my longtime favorite: the G-2. Not bad, but not better than the G-2.

Full Review
cult score6.6
January 19, 2022
Misen

8" Chef's Knife

A perfect everyday knife. Heavy, but well-designed and rock solid. Is it my favorite to use? Not even close, but an excellent cost/value ratio.

Full Review
cult score6.6
January 19, 2022
MAC

7.25" Chef Series

The easiest knife I've ever used out of the box. Doesn't hold an edge for very long, but super easy to sharpen.

Full Review
cult score9
January 19, 2022
Steelport

8" Chef's Knife

Every detail of this knife is gorgeous. With that said, the thick spine is super frustrating for common tasks like cutting onions. A slight geometry change would make this a category killer.

Full Review
cult score5.2
January 19, 2022
Dao Vua

210mm Gyuto

A "chaotic neutral" knife in every way. Hard to get one with good alignment. Probably will require sharpening once you get it home.

Full Review
cult score3.2
January 19, 2022
Victorinox Fibrox

8" Chef's Knife

The internet loves this knife for its low price. That is the only good thing about it.

Full Review
cult score6.2
January 19, 2022
Global

G-56 7" Santoku

I think this knife is fine, but I wouldn't buy it as my main knife. Just not practical enough due to the curved tip and the hollow grind adds no value.

Full Review
cult score7.6
January 19, 2022
Global

G-2 8" Chef's Knife

Not great, but damn good. My road dog for most of the last 2 decades and the standard by which I judge all other knives.

Full Review
cult score9.3
January 19, 2022
Hado

210mm Ginsan Gyuto

Friends have described this knife to me as both "like a scalpel" and "a fucking lightsaber" after using it. More brittle than I'd like, but still my favorite knife ever.

Full Review
cult score8.1
January 19, 2022
Miyabi

Koh 8" Gyuto

A great entry-level knife modeled after classic Japanese gyutos. If you're curious, you could do worse. Great edge durability for the price.

Full Review
cult score7.2
January 19, 2022
Shun

Kanso 8" Chef's Knife

I have bought 3 of these: 1 for myself and 1 for each of my siblings. Pretty, comfortable, solid steel, easy to sharpen. Nothing game-changing, but well worth the price.

Full Review
cult score4.6
May 19, 2021
HexClad

Hybrid Nonstick Frying Pan (10")

Big infomercial energy and SUPER expensive for a PTFE pan of any kind.

Full Review
cult score1.8
May 19, 2021
GreenPan x Food52

10" Ceramic Frying Pan

Both pans scuffed around the rim within a day of arrival and there are rumors that olive oil completely ruins the finish?

Full Review
cult score4.8
May 19, 2021
T-Fal

Professional 10" Fry Pan

The traditional recommendation from the old guard. This is my 3rd and it's nearing the end of its lifespan. I hid some of the scuffs with cilantro.

Full Review
cult score8.2
May 19, 2021
Mauviel

M'steel Carbon Fry Pan (9.5")

A classic pro pick. The beeswax it comes in is a pain, but taking the time to remove it is well worth it.

Full Review
cult score4.6
May 19, 2021
Black Cube

Hybrid Stainless Steel (9.5")

An almost exact clone of the HexClad (or vice-versa). Surprisingly comfy handle!

Full Review
cult score8.2
May 19, 2021
Smithey

No. 10 Chef Skillet

Stunner. This is my favorite skillet I own now (bonus points for being a perfect backdrop for twee food photos).

Full Review
cult score2.6
May 19, 2021
Our Place

Always Pan

Fuckin sucks, man. I wanted to like it so badly. Knew the "7-pans-in-1" marketing had to be false, but not like this... Not like this.

Full Review
cult score8
May 19, 2021
Carote

10" Nonstick Frying Pan

Super lightweight, very slippery, and lowkey pretty. Seems like a solid deal to me.

Full Review
cult score8.2
May 19, 2021
Field Co.

#8 Cast Iron Skillet

Absolute unit. LOVE the fine-milled finish. This is my grilling skillet and it gets a ton of use and abuse.

Full Review
cult score6.4
May 19, 2021
Misen

Carbon Steel Skillet (10")

The same design we loved in our first review of the Misen 10" Nonstick Pan, but without the fragile PTFE coating.

Full Review
cult score8.2
May 19, 2021
Made In

Nonstick Frying Pan (10")

Best branding glow-up of 2020 and goddamn, I kinda dig that blue finish.

Full Review
cult score7.2
May 19, 2021
Le Creuset

Toughened Nonstick PRO Fry Pan (11")

The marketing for this pan makes SOME CLAIMS. So far, it does seem to be compatible with metal utensils, as claimed.

Full Review
cult score2.8
May 19, 2021
Tramontina

Professional Nonstick (10")

I don't know how absolute garbage like this keeps getting a pass from The Wirecutter, but this pan is trash and no one should own it.

Full Review
cult score7.8
May 19, 2021
Great Jones

Large Fry

Such a stunner. Would love a riveted handle, but can't win 'em all.

Full Review
cult score5.2
May 19, 2021
Caraway

Fry Pan (10.5")

Instagram seems to think this is prettier than I do. Just looks and feels super cheap to me.

Full Review